Kitchee Clinched the 90th Anniversary Cup Followin

An early strike from PH Poon and an injury-time finish from Dejan saw Kitchee defeating Lee Man 2-1 and winning the 90th Anniversary Cup.


A long pass from Y Huang found PH Poon in the box in the 7th minute, whose chip sailed past the keeper and gave Kitchee the lead. Diego had a chance to equalise for Lee Man in the 40th minute, but his effort was saved by ZP Wang. 


Both teams played more proactively at the beginning of the second half. A long shot from Y Huang in the 48th minute failed to find the target. But it was Lee Man who capitalised from the high intensity of the match and equalised in the 49th minute through SK Cheng’s close effort. An attack from the right in the 63th minute saw Gavilan take a quick shot, but was blocked and cleared by Lee Man defenders. Two more substitutions were made as Baena and Shinichi Chan were replaced by Dejan and CT Ho, who was later forced off due to injury and in turn replaced by Tomas in the 79th minute. 


It was at stoppage when Y Huang’s long shot outside the box was parried by Lee Man’s goalkeeper HC Yuen. Gavilan’s cross found Tomas but his header was yet again denied by HC Yuen. The ball fell to Dejan, whose half volley found the net and regained the lead for Kitchee.


Dejan’s late goal helped Kitchee defeat Lee Man at 2-1 and claim the 90th Anniversary Cup.